Just moozing

Before you can check your notes, you must make them…

OpenWrt and Linksys WRT160NL

with 10 comments

My primary router died (and will be dissected later), so I bought a new one. It was a Linksys WRT160NL, and it took me 10 minutes to unwrap it and install OpenWrt.

When installing OpenWrt it is all about finding the correct to upload. Before buying it, I googled opernwrt and wrt160nl and got some hits to convince me that there wasn’t some big red flags anywhere.

In the wiki, OpenWrt on WRT160NL is called work in progress and that you have to have access to the serial port. After reading in the forums, I decided that the earlier information was outdated and that it ought to work.

Quick howto:

Download the firmware

wget http://downloads.openwrt.org/backfire/10.03/ar71xx/openwrt-ar71xx-wrt160nl-jffs2.bin

Use the web interface to install the “new” version of the firmware.

Access OpenWrt using the browser on http://192.168.1.1

It was that simple. Cred to the OpenWrt team.

Written by moozing

March 19, 2011 at 09:00

Posted in Tech

Tagged with ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] mentioned earlier, I have a new wireless router and I decided that the time was right to do some cross […]

  2. Hey,

    I prefer ver 7 of OpenWRT -> do you think/know if this will work?Ver 7 (Kamikaze) runs ipkg and not opkg

    Let me know

    Ismail

    May 13, 2011 at 11:38

    • Looking at the download list on downloads.openwrt.org, it seems that the ar71xx target was added with version 8.x.
      You will probably have to compile your own kernel to make it work with version 7.x

      moozing

      May 14, 2011 at 22:50

  3. Thanks for the info …. I’m not sure if I should try out ver 8.x or follow your lead and go with 10.03 –> my requirements are simple:
    1. pppd
    2. hotplug
    3. openvpn
    4. ntpclient/ntpd

    your advice?

    Thanks! 🙂

    Ismail

    May 17, 2011 at 15:55

  4. I would not consider OpenVpn a simple requirement 🙂

    By hotplugging, you must refer to USB, and that works – at least with the USB cameras that I have. I have not tested mass storage devices, but I would be amazed if it didn’t work out of the box.

    I would always recommend using the latest version if possible. The newer version might require more flash, but if you have newer devices (like the ones that are able to run OpenVPN) OpenWrt requirements are modest.
    With newer version, it is easier to get help, and updated software is default. With routers, you need to consider security, and that will almost always point you to newer versions.

    moozing

    May 19, 2011 at 21:04

    • Hey

      Bad news … 😦
      The jffs2 file upgrade failed
      Tried the squashfs file and now blinking power LED! 😦 😦

      Have tried multiple resets — 30/30/30 or hold reset for 30 secs. disconnect power holding reset for about 10 secs. reconnect and still no joy!

      Any advice for me apart from opening and voiding warranty?

      Ismail

      May 20, 2011 at 19:02

      • Unless you are planning on soldering a serial port on the print board, you don’t gain much from opening the box, sorry.

        I have never had the need for the 3×30 solution. I do, however, have a lot of timing issues when doing the tftp download. It never works the first time, and you need to plug in the power and hit the enter button at the same time.

        I have actually tried to describe this in a different blog entry.

        This is mostly a question for the openwrt forum.

        moozing

        May 20, 2011 at 22:05

  5. Here is another description about OpenWRT on WRT160NL
    http://barbara320.gotdns.com/alnis/computers/openwrt/index.php

    Janis

    August 30, 2011 at 00:17

  6. My brand new WRT160NL refuses to update the firmware – fails every time at 26%…

    Any suggestions?

    pflindt

    March 15, 2012 at 17:45

    • I checked on the linksys homepage and they still only have one version of wrt160nl.

      The blinking power LED is obviously a sign that something went wrong, and if the device doesn’t have an IP address, I would try to make the serial connection working. It is actually accessible from the outside – it is the connectors visible in the “internet” or “LAN4” RJ45 connector. So no need to openly void the warranty…

      moozing

      April 10, 2012 at 15:01


Leave a Reply

