Just moozing

Before you can check your notes, you must make them…

Print server

leave a comment »

I’m not talking about setting up a server to handle printers. Instead this post is about the hardware device where plus in the printer in one end and the ethernet cable in the other. A colleague asked me to get an old one up and running.

The device

It is an Lexmark MarkNet Pro 1. A quick google search says that you may buy it for $100. I wouldn’t. These days I rarely use a printer and my trusted HP Laser 1200 is connected to the USB port of a NAS (network attached storage), so no need.

I couldn’t find the manual online, but who needs manuals…

Finding the device

When I turn on power all four diodes start blinking. That is odd, it might be related to the fact that I don’t have any printer connected.

In order to find the IP address, I could use nmap or a systematic ping, but since I have access to the DHCP server, I check that one first.

With a lease time of 12 hours, the screen shot is taken 2 minutes and 41 seconds after the DHCP lease has been granted. The MAC address also corresponds to the one on the label of the print server box. The device support DHCP and has received the IP 192.168.1.168. It has even reported having the hostname “3”, which is odd.

Connecting

I use nmap to detect which ports are open.

$ nmap 192.168.1.168
Starting Nmap 5.00 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2010-12-15 20:20 CET
Interesting ports on 3.lan (192.168.1.168):
Not shown: 991 closed ports
PORT     STATE SERVICE
7/tcp    open  echo
21/tcp   open  ftp
79/tcp   open  finger
80/tcp   open  http
515/tcp  open  printer
9000/tcp open  cslistener
9100/tcp open  jetdirect
9200/tcp open  wap-wsp
9500/tcp open  unknown

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 4.27 seconds

First thought: Oh, dear, I don’t want that device on my network.

It has a ton of open port, which increases the attack surface. Perhaps we may disable stuff (using HTTP), which may help, but firmware must be ancient, and for a home network it doesn’t matter. It would be strange beyond reason to have some random malware to target this device.

I couldn’t help taking screenshots of the web interface.

It may not be fancy by today’s standards, but it works, is easy to navigate and tells you what you want to know. The device has support for a lot of different network printer protocol.

We keep the current values, except the hostname, which is changed to “printserver” – a hostname of “3” is annoying and error prone. Some services like RARP could be disabled, but why bother on a home network.

Using the print server

On my Linux box I would use Jetdirect on port 9100 – it gets detected by my printer manager when I supply the IP address or the hostname. Using LDP appears to work as well. All this is given the reservation that there is no printer attached.

I doesn’t support SMB/CIFS shares, which would have been my first choice on a windows machine.

It appears to support Jetdirect on port 9100 and LPD on port 515. Googling this should give some useful hits for making it run in windows.

Written by moozing

December 16, 2010 at 09:00

Posted in Tech

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

